Skip to content

My Encounter with Kenan and Kel

December 3, 2011

When I was younger, I was in the Cub Scouts.  I would wear those scarves around my neck and earn belt loops and compete in pine wood derby races.  My mom was our den mother and she would always think of cool things for us to do.  There used to be this place in Atlanta or somewhere near and I think it was called Hands On Discovery Zone or something.  I did a search for it but I can’t find it, I guess because I can’t remember exactly what it’s called, but there were little educational games and stuff like one of those balls that you put your hands on and it makes your hair stand up.

And once when I was there, someone had made a hovercraft out of a leaf blower.

And it was always really fun.

One day my mom the den mother decided to take the den to the discovery zone.  I had a good time as I always did but towards the end, I don’t remember how exactly I heard, I must have been seven or eight years old, but I heard that Kenan and Kel were going to be doing an autograph singing.  I waited in line forever and then got autographs from a bunch of people who I don’t even know who they were, I think a bunch of R & B groups or something but then, finally I got to Kenan and Kel.  They weren’t sitting right beside each other; Kenan was sitting next to some woman who it seemed like he was maybe going with and she was signing autographs too but I don’t know who she was and I was excited but Kenan didn’t even make eye contact with me.  He was just muttering to the woman beside him, saying “just keep on signing, keep on signing,” and he was just signing piece of paper after piece of paper, one after the other.  I grabbed one of them and moved on.  But then I got up to Kel and he didn’t seem stressed at all about signing autographs.  He said something to me like “Hey, how you doing” and then posed with me in a picture.

I don’t know if Kenan had anything going on in his life that made him not be able to be polite, I know that crazy stuff can happen sometimes but I’ve always liked Kel better on the show, I liked him more when I met them, and I like the projects that Kel is doing right now better.

Kenan is still, by far, my favorite character on Saturday Night Live though.

what up with that

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I remember what place you’re talking about- It was called Sci-trek. It was awesome! They had rooms completely dedicated to bubbles, electricity, and video games. Ah, to be a kid again. YOU MET KENAN AND KEL!? Sick. I know so many people that would have killed back in the day for that.

    • Thanks for telling me what it was called! I’ll have to go there again. It’s probably all run down.

  2. OMG. crazy that you go to meet them. I always liked Kel better too. He was hilarious and fun-loving. I guess since Kenan was the voice of reason people didn’t gravitate to him as much. Kids don’t want reason, they want fun and ridiculous. However, they really were both awesome characters. I really love seeing Kenan on SNL. Probably his dream come true after acting in All That, growing up.

Leave a Reply

